Short of the Year

Each year, the Short Film Conference and its members elect the ‘Short of the Year’. There’s a simple voting procedure that consists of three rounds: first voting round ends in a shortlist, second voting round ends with four to seven nominations and the third/final part of the voting eventually decides the winner.

Previous winners


Min Börda’
(Niki Lindroth von Bahr)

✔️ Short of the Year (Short Film Conference)
✔️ Cristal for Best Short Film (Annecy)
✔️ Best Animation (Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival)
✔️ Short Cuts Award for Best International Short Film (TIFF)
& many more

[discover the nominated films from 2017]
[discover the shorlisted films from 2017]



(Daniel Mulloy)

✔️ Short of the Year (Short Film Conference)
✔️ BAFTA Award © Best Short Film 2017
✔️Special Jury Prize (Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival)
✔️ Best of Fest (Palm Springs International Festival of Short Films)
& many more

[discover the nominated films from 2016]

Upcoming festivals
About us
The Short Film Conference has been in existence since 1970 as non-profit association for the promotion of the short film. We are the only international organist in the world seeking to unite the global short film community.